NAZIM HIKMET – TO ASIAN AND AFRICAN WRITERS

Posted: 12 November 2011 in NAZIM HIKMET
Tags: ,

TO ASIAN AND AFRICAN WRITERS

My brothers and my sisters
never mind my blond hair
I am an Asian
never mind my blue eyes
I am an African
where I come from trees don’t cast shadows down below

just like the ones you have

where I come from the bread is in the jaws of the lion
and the dragons lie in front of the fountains
where I come from people die before reaching

the age of fifty

just like where you come from
never mind my blond hair
I am an Asian
never mind my blue eyes
I am an African
eighty percent of my people are illiterate
poems wander from mouth to mouth turning into songs
poems can become banners where I come from

just like the ones where you come from
my brothers and my sisters
our poems yoked to the skinny ox should be able to till the land
our poems knee deep in mud should enter the rice fields
our poems should be able to ask all the questions
our poems should be able to gather all the lights
our poems like the milestones

should be able to stand at the crossroads
see the approaching enemy before anyone else
beat the tom-toms in the jungles
and until on this earth not a single slave country or slave
not a single atomic cloud remain
our poems should be able to give all they have
their minds, their souls and their lives

for the great freedom.
January 22, 1962
Moscow
Comments
  1. I believe that I would surely go loony not having this internet internet site. It is the 1st matter I take a look at prior to going to work and the pretty last factor I carry out previous to heading off for the nighttime.

  2. INteresting informations, thanks for sharing

  3. I definitely like it when men and women come together and share opinions, wonderful weblog, maintain it up.

  4. Interesting read, perhaps the best article ivЎЇe browse today. We learn everyday cheers to you!

  5. Hi; Wonderful post for me. Your post has excellent quality. I wish to has valuable posts like yours in my weblog. How do you obtain these posts?

  6. Where exactly is the facebook like button ?

  7. Particularly good appreciate it, I presume your current followers could just want a great deal more writing similar to this maintain up the very good effort.

  8. Truly informative cheers, It is my opinion your current visitors will likely want far more items similar to this continue the great effort.

  9. Really educational cheers, I reckon your current visitors could perhaps want far more writing like that carry on the remarkable work.

  10. Truly illuminating appreciate it, I’m sure your trusty readers may well really well want a excellent deal more writing such as this preserve the amazing content.

  11. I believe that I would surely go loony not having this internet internet site. It is the 1st matter I take a look at prior to going to work and the pretty last factor I carry out previous to heading off for the nighttime.

  12. Awesome issues here. I am very happy to peer your post. Thank you so much and I’m having a look forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  13. I consider something truly interesting about your website so I saved to my bookmarks .

Leave a Reply

