NAZIM HIKMET – BEFORE THE TIME RUNS OUT MY ROSE

Posted: 12 November 2011 in NAZIM HIKMET
Tags: , , , , , ,

BEFORE THE TIME RUNS OUT, MY ROSE
Before the time runs out, my rose,

before Paris is burned down and destroyed,
before the time runs out, my rose,
and my heart is still on its branch,
I, one night, one of these May nights,
holding you against the wall in Quai Voltaire,
must kiss you on the lips
then turning our faces toward Notre Dame

we must gaze at its rose window
my rose, suddenly you must embrace me,
with fear, surprise and happiness,
sobbing silently,

the stars too must pour
mixed with a drizzling rain.
Before the time runs out, my rose,
before Paris is burned down and destroyed,

before the time runs out, my rose, and my heart is still on its branch, In this night of May

we must pass by the quay

under the willows, my rose,
the weeping willows that are drenched.
I must tell you the most beautiful couple of words of Paris,

the loveliest and truest,
then whistling some airs
I must die of happiness
and we must have faith in human beings.
Up there stone houses
without ledges or recesses
stuck together
and their walls are all moonlight
and their windows straight up

are sleeping standing up
and on the shore across the Louvre
bathed in floodlights
our crystal palace
illuminated for us.

Before the time runs out, my rose,
Before Paris is burned and destroyed,
 before the time runs out, my rose,

and my heart is still on its branch,
in this night of May on the quay we must sit
on the red barrels in front of the warehouses.

The canal across fades into darkness.

A barge is passing,
my rose, let’s say hello,
let’s say hello to the barge with the yellow cabin.

Is she on her way to Belgium or to Holland?
In the cabin door a woman with a white apron
is smiling sweetly.

Before the time runs out, my rose,
before Paris is burned down and destroyed,
before the time runs out, my rose…
People of Paris, people of Paris,
You mustn’t let Paris be burned and destroyed…

Comments
  1. Wonderful website you made here, wonderful topic and its certain definitely something many folks would certainly like discussing Im sure a number of other folks trust me, so continue posting!

  2. Rather worthwhile page. Your own internet internet site is quickly becoming 1 of my top picks.

  3. Tremendously informative cheers, It looks like your visitors may well possibly want far more facts of this nature preserve the superb work.

  4. TravisPrince says:

    Hey there, I usually donЎЇt comment but figured I would do it now. Plain and simple I like your website.

  5. I just wanted to take a minute to say thanks for posting this. This area was on my mind recently, as a result I sincerely loved this article!

  6. Not long ago i came accross your internet internet site and have been reading along. I figured I might leave my quite first comment. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this web page quite frequently. Thank you

  7. Hey – awesome web page, just looking around some websites, seems a certainly good platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my blogs but looking to alter one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?

  8. Incredibly nice layout and wonderful topic material , practically nothing else we want

  9. Hello guys, wonderful web page, particularly rich in content and appropriately carefully thought out, personally I found here substantially interesting and useful

  10. That was clever. IЎЇll be stopping back.

  11. I have looked for some information of this topic for the last several days? Your blog is greatly treasured.

  12. Fantastic weblog! I really enjoy how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made.

  13. Astonishingly fantastic several thanks, It looks like your current visitors may perhaps rather well want a great deal more articles of this nature carry on the fantastic content.

  14. i have no idea why but i definitely like your weblog. it feels almost like i am the person posting it,since your and mine blogging styles match especially a lot.

  15. Greetings from New York! Just visited your posts. Actually took in your write-up, I’ll pass it along! Have a fantastic day!

  16. What theme are you using on your site ? I honestly like the layout. Countless thanks for the post.

  17. Awesome post. Incredibly refreshing given all the duplicate content out there. Thanks for doing something original.

  18. I definitely take pleasure in looking through on this web website , it holds fantastic articles .

  19. Wonderful post, thanks! Maybe you could do a follow up post about this?

  20. Great thoughts ЁC thanks for sharing. It is nice to come across quality sites that get to the point.

  21. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how significantly time I had spent for this details! Thanks!

  22. I seriously seriously delight in approaching your own webpage! your specific tactic to see items is the thing that keeps me interested. Appreciate it a whole lot!!!!?-

  23. Hey there dude, This was a decent page for such adifficult area to speak about.

  24. Wonderful post, you’ve pointed out some wonderful details , I besides believe this s a incredibly fantastic web webpage.

  25. Wonderful posts and articles, discovered your site while surfing the internet, have bookmarked it now, keep on writing….

  26. Particularly challenging bless you, I believe your readers would most most likely want significantly more articles similar to this keep up the decent hard work.

  27. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up rather forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, especially nice post.

  28. Thanks for this amazing post. I’m refreshed after reading this. Thank you!

  29. Remarkable post & Outstanding weblog! I would like to begin a blog too but I’ve no clue where to start. I have the relevant skills to do it (not that hard on the practical part) but I honestly feel like I’m just too lazy to post frequently… That’s the matter, if you start you need to go all of the way…

  30. Valuable details and exceptional design you got here! I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up!

  31. I believe that I would surely go loony not having this internet internet site. It is the 1st matter I take a look at prior to going to work and the pretty last factor I carry out previous to heading off for the nighttime.

  32. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to present something back and help others like you aided me.

  33. Arron Hentze says:

    Regards for this post, I am a big big fan of this website would like to keep updated.

Leave a Reply

