NAZIM HIKMET – A TALE OF SEPARATION

Posted: 12 November 2011 in NAZIM HIKMET
Tags: , , , , , ,

A TALE OF SEPARATION

The man said to the woman:
“I love you;
and how,
Like squeezing my heart in my palms
like something made of glass

breaking it
madly
until my fingers bleed.”

The man said to the woman:
“I love you;
and howmiles and miles deep

miles and miles wide
one hundred percent, five hundred percent,
infinity percent.”

The woman said to the man:
“I have looked
with my lips, with my heart, with my head;
with love, with fear, with reverence
at your lips, your heart, your head
Whatever I am uttering now
you have taught me like a whisper in the dark…
And nowI know:

That the earth –
– like a mother with a sunny face –
has suckled her last most beautiful child…
But what can I do?

my hair is entangled
with the fingers of the dying one
I cannot free
my head!
 
 You have to keep walking
after looking into the eyes
of the newborn infant…
You
have to keep walking,

leaving me behind…”
The woman became silent.
THEY EMBRACED
A book fell to the ground …

A window was shut …
THEY PARTED …
Leave a Reply

