NAZIM HIKMET – LETTER TO MY WIFE

Posted: 11 October 2011 in NAZIM HIKMET
Tags: ,

My one and only!
Your last letter says: “My head is throbbing,
my heart is stunned!”

You say:
“If they hang you,
if I lose you,
I’ll die!”
You’ll live, my dear-
my memory will vanish like black smoke in the wind.
Of course you’ll live, red-haired lady of my heart:
in the twentieth century
grief lasts
at most a year.

Death-
a body swinging from a rope.
My heart
can’t accept such a death.

But
you can bet
if some poor gypsy’s hairy black
spidery hand
slips a noose
around my neck,
they’ll look in vain for fear
in Nazim’s
blue eyes!
In the twilight of my last morning
I
will see my friends and you,

and I’ll go
to my grave
regretting nothing but an unfinished song….

My wife
Good-hearted,
golden,
eyes sweeter than honey my bee!
Why did I write you
they want to hang me!
The trial has hardly begun,
and they don’t just pluck a man’s head
like a turnip.

Look, forget all this.
If you have any money,
buy me some flannel underwear:
my sciatica is acting up again.
And don’t forget,
a prisoner’s wife
must always think good thoughts.

Translated by Randy Blasing – Mutlu Konuk

Comments
  1. Thanks a great deal for sharing this with all of us you definitely comprehend what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also seek advice from my internet site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate contract between us!

  2. You are my intake , I’ve few blogs and often run out from to post .

  3. Thank you for your devotion to excellence in writing. While reading your post I related to the points made in this content. This really is excellent.

  4. I would like to say “wow” what a inspiring post. This is genuinely superb. Keep doing what you’re doing!!

  5. Your blogposts are always so impressive and especially inspiring. Thank you a great deal for finding the time to help encourage others!

  6. LV Sale says:

    Particularly challenging bless you, I believe your readers would most most likely want significantly more articles similar to this keep up the decent hard work.

  7. Your article seems interesting, i’ve noted it my digg and stumble account.The point you are making is easy to recognize and effective.

  8. Valuable info. Lucky me I located your web web page by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it

  9. Thanks for taking the time to share with you this, I’m fervently relating to this and i also take pleasure in studying this topic. Please, when you gain facts, please update this site with increased data. I’ve found it extremely helpful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.

  10. Incredibly revealing thank you, It is my opinion your visitors may well possibly want way more posts like this maintain the remarkable effort.

  11. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for posting. I will visit your blog again

  12. While this subject can be pretty touchy for most people, my opinion is that there has to be a middle or common ground that we all can find. I do appreciate that youve added relevant and intelligent commentary here though. Thank you!

  13. Maintain up this superior work, you have a good blog over here with much fantastic information and facts! When you post some new stuff, I’ll visit your weblog again and I’ll follow it.

  14. Truly insightful bless you, It looks like your trusty subscribers could perhaps want significantly more blog posts along these lines carry on the outstanding hard work.

  15. Truly informative cheers, It is my opinion your current visitors will likely want far more items similar to this continue the great effort.

  16. Just thought I’d leave a comment to say how considerably I enjoyed this read. Quality weblog!

  17. Hermes Sale says:

    Really educational cheers, I reckon your current visitors could perhaps want far more writing like that carry on the remarkable work.

  18. Highly insightful thank you, I do believe your followers could perhaps want far more content such as this continue the very good content.

Leave a Reply

