NESIMI – MY PICTURE, MY DARLING, MY FRIEND

Posted: 30 September 2011 in NESIMI
Tags:

My picture, my darling, my friend,
My boon companion, my intimate, my soul,
My comrade, my confidant,
My life, my spirit, my remedy for grief,

My sovereign, my moon, my sweetheart,
My being, my sustenance, my spirit,
My refuge, my goal, my direction,
My orbit, my thought, my soul,

My moon-featured, fairy-faced one,
My merry and wanton charmer,
My jasmine scented, rose fragrant one,
My cypress grown in a rose garden,

My delicate, my elegant one, my fair,
My dear one, my peerless beloved,
My Hijaz, my Ka’ba, my Sinai,
My paradise, my houri, my Ridvan

My rose, my sweet basil, my trees,
My ambergris, my aloe wood,
My pearl, my precious metal,
My ruby, my cornelian, my coral,

My heart illuminating, faithful,
Entrail-kindling tormentor,
My sovereign, my world conqueror,
My ruler, my monarch and emperor,

My candle, my lamp, my light,
My radiance, my star, my sun,
My nightingale, my bulbul,
My rose, I am sweet toned Nesimi.

Translated by Bernard Lewis

NESİMİ

Scholars suggest that he might have been born between 1339 and 1344 and that he died in 1418. His real name was İmadüddin, but later he adopted the pen name Nesimi, coming from the name of his birthplace Nesim. Nesimi was the caliph of Fazlullah Hurufi, the founder of the Hurufilik sect who was later executed in Şirvan in 1393. Like Fazlullah, Nesimi was severely punished by the orthodox Muslims for his “heretical thoughts and poetry.” Their method of punishment for Nesimi was skinning. After his execution, Nesimi’s poetry became more influential among the sufi and especially the Bektaşi poets. A considerable corpus of hagiographic literature developed around the legend of his sorrowful death. A Turkish and a Persian divan by Nesimi have come down to us.

Comments
  1. Hermes Sale says:

    Incredibly nice layout and wonderful topic material , practically nothing else we want

  2. Hi, I can’t figure out how to add your blog in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please? I really want to read your future posts.

  3. Tremendously informative cheers, It looks like your visitors may well possibly want far more facts of this nature preserve the superb work.

  4. I do not grant all, but I do congratulate the writer of the blog for the theme.

  5. Thanks,it’s genuinely interesting post. And maybe it isn’t quite in the topic, but I want to ask you for advice. Maybe somebody know sites with quality free web design templates?

  6. Thanks,it’s genuinely interesting post. And maybe it isn’t quite in the topic, but I want to ask you for advice. Maybe somebody know sites with quality free web design templates?

  7. Hermes Sale says:

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.

  8. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share. Thank you!

  9. Awesome weblog, it’s just like a game for me! It’s so infomative and usefull, thanks a good deal! If you post more of this great stuff, I’ll visit your blog again!

  10. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? With thanks

  11. You have wonderfully written the post. We have liked your way of penning this. Thank you for sharing this.

  12. weather vane says:

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thank you!

  13. vinyl cupola says:

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  14. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  15. I am usually to blogging and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and preserve checking for brand new information.

  16. tapestries says:

    Can I simply say what a aid to find somebody who truly is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know find out how to convey an issue to gentle and make it important. More folks have to learn this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more common because you definitely have the gift.

  17. This website online is really a walk-by for all of the info you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and also you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.

  18. There are some interesting time limits on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There’s some validity however I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  19. I discovered your weblog website on google and examine a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the excellent operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you afterward!…

  20. error 651 says:

    Whats up! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice data you could have here on this post. I will be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  21. That is the precise weblog for anybody who needs to seek out out about this topic. You notice a lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply great!

  22. Every now and then, when I spot a plain comment which says positive stuff, I get rid of the web site link, edit the e-mail address but still post it

  23. LV Wallet says:

    This genuinely is superb post ! I just love’d this !

  24. I’m a huge lover of your blog! Look at my internet site, You can check your web site there!

  25. I was very happy to search out this web-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this excellent learn!! I definitely having fun with every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  26. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

Leave a Reply

