AHMET HAMDI TANPINAR – BEYOND TIME

Posted: 15 September 2011 in AHMET HAMDI TANPINAR
Tags: ,

I am
not within time,
nor entirely beyond;
but in the flux
of an all-embracing, complete, indivisible moment.

All forms in a trance
of strange dream-tones,
even a windblown feather
is not as light as I.

My head a vast mill,
grinding out silence;
my heart a dervish
naked of cloak or goatskin,
who has reached his desire.

I perceive
the world become
a creeping ivy, rooted in me;
I swim at the centre
of a deep blue light.
1933

Translated by Ruth Christie

Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar (23 June 1901 – 24 January 1962) was one of the most important modern poet, novelists and essayists of Turkish literature. He was also a member of the Turkish parliament (the Grand National Assembly of Turkey) between 1942 and 1946.Tanpınar was born in Istanbul on the 23rd of June 1901. His father was a judge, Hüseyin Fikri Efendi. Tanpınar’s mother died at Mosul, when Tanpınar was thirteen. Because his father’s vocation required frequent relocaton, Tanpınar continued his education in several different cities, including Istanbul, Sinop, Siirt, Kirkuk, and Antalya. After quitting veterinary college, he resumed his educational career at the Faculty of Literature at Istanbul University, which he completed in 1923. As a literature teacher, he taught at high schools in Erzurum (1923 – 1924), Konya, Ankara, the Educational Institute of Gazi and the Fine Arts Academy. At the Fine Arts Academy, besides teaching literature, Tanpınar taught in branches of aesthetics in arts, history of art and mythology (1932 – 1939). From 1942 to 1946, he entered the Turkish National Assembly as parliamentar of Kahramanmaraş. In 1953, he made an extensive journey to Europe, traveling many countries within six months such as France, Belgium, Holland, England, Spain and Italy. Tanpınar died of a heart attack on the January 24, 1962 in Istanbul. His grave is in the Aşiyan Graveyard, Istanbul.

Comments
  1. What exactly questions that marilyn and i include a terrific college, considering meant for your ex boyfriend rational predatory instincts means which will deciding on the enterprise, will be currently becoming depicted, is the exact. She argues which in most cases persons don’t have any option to apprehend this really is connected with positive important points

  2. Hermes Sale says:

    You have wonderfully written the post. We have liked your way of penning this. Thank you for sharing this.

  3. Incredibly revealing thank you, It is my opinion your visitors may well possibly want way more posts like this maintain the remarkable effort.

  4. I just added this feed to my favorites. I like reading your posts. Thank you!

  5. I needs to spend some time learning substantially more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information and facts I was looking for this information for my mission.

  6. Wonderful information. I will spread the word to my friends to tell them to visit your site.

  7. I enjoy it when persons come together and share opinions, amazing blog, keep it up?-.

  8. Very good read, thank you for posting.

  9. I can’t understand how to add your weblog to my news reader. any recomendations would be appreciated I want to access your posts.

  10. Truly illuminating cheers, I do believe your trusty audience may perhaps perhaps want more content along these lines continue the good effort.

  11. Please maintain publishing your articles are Good.

  12. What i come across tough would be to locate a weblog that may seize me for a minute but your blog is diverse.

  13. Well along with your permission let me to grab your feed to maintain updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  14. Your article seems interesting, i’ve noted it my digg and stumble account.The point you are making is easy to recognize and effective.

  15. Especially amazing post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I hope you write again incredibly soon!

Leave a Reply

